Contact SoS MinErals

For day to day enquires please contact the science coordination team on or tweet us on Twitter: @sosminerals

Science coordination team


Dr Jon Naden

Dr Jon Naden
I am a senior minerals geoscientist and team leader BGS University Funding Initiative. Since 1995 I have been involved as a project/task leader in a large number of projects focussed on metallogenic research funded by national governments and the EU R&D Framework Programmes. Most have involved collaboration with the mineral exploration/economic geology departments of European geological surveys, SME mining companies and universities. As a result of these I have good experience of delivering a range of market-facing collaborative science ventures in the UK and overseas. I have been on the organising committee for several international conferences in the field of mineral exploration and I am currently secretary of the MDSG.

Telephone: 0115 936 3100
Twitter: @sosminerals


Ellie Evans

Ellie Evans
I am an environmental scientist at the British Geological Survey (BGS) in the minerals and waste science area. My role on the science coordination team is to assist Jon Naden as the SCT manager, organise meetings and plan programme events. During my early days at BGS I gained over a decade of experience in mineral processing in the laboratory before leading my own projects on mineral aggregates and the environment. At the core of these was stakeholder engagement in order to develop user friendly outputs. Most of the projects I have worked on have been with external collaborators and consultants.

Telephone: 0115 936 3164
Twitter: @sosminerals

Knowledge Transfer Network manager

Tony Hartwell
I am the SoS MinErals network director and bring over 25 years of experience in the metals and minerals industry to the programme. My role is to facilitate networking in the mineral supply chain community, support members of the network, enhance connectivity and thus raise the profile of the programme.

E-mail: tony.hartwell@ktn-uk.orgLink
Telephone: 01235 446 079

Programme management

Programme executive board

The mineral resources programme is be governed by the programme executive board, which is responsible for the strategic direction and management of the programme and delivery of the programme's objectives. The programme executive board is currently comprised of:

  • Chris Franklin, Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) (Chair)
  • Jason Green, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
  • Jon Naden and Ellie Evans, science coordination team
  • Chloe Onoufriou and Lucy Hopewell, NERC programme management team
  • Adrian Boyce, Scottish Universities Environmental Research Centre (SUERC)
  • Tony Hartwell, Knowledge Transfer Network manager
  • Newton Fund